About me and my blog

About this blog

I started this blog in 2008 while I was pregnant with my son. I had just finished reading Opting In: Having a Child Without Losing Yourself by Amy Richards. It was reassuring to read about how I could be a feminist and a mother; I had been wondering how I would reconcile the two, and after reading Richards' book I felt confident that I could blend the two together. I decided to start a blog about feminist parenting to chronicle the exciting new realm that I was entering.

I made 14 blog entries while I was pregnant, and once my son was born, I made two entries before abandoning my blog for a year and a half. I had a lot more time to write about feminist parenting before I actually started parenting. I started posting again in March 2010, and I'll try really hard not to slack off this time.

This blog isn't just about my day to day life while raising my son. Sure, it does come up sometimes, but I also write about politics, books, feminism, parenting trends, and anything else that I think is of interest to feminists and parents.

About me

My name is Saraline, I'm 28 years old, and I live in Montreal with my toddler-age son. I grew up in a small rural community in southern Ontario.

I spent two years at the University of Windsor pursuing a degree in English Literature and Creative Writing, but I dropped out when I ran out of money. While I was there, I volunteered at the school's Womyn's Centre and helped organize Windsor's first Take Back the Night march. I moved back home for a bit before moving in with a boyfriend in Oakville.

I lived in Oakville for almost a year and I moved to Montreal on my own in 2005 because I wanted to have exciting adventures. I flitted around for a bit before finding a full-time job as a relay operator for the Deaf and hard of hearing.

I got pregnant, went on maternity leave, had my son, and got laid off from my job while I was on maternity leave. I went on welfare when my maternity leave was finished and it was the most degrading and humiliating experience that I've ever had. I am now in the Library and Information Technologies program at John Abbott College and doing well.

I love living in Quebec and I'm glad that I moved here. It is a really wonderful place. I speak some French but I need to work on it. It has improved a lot since I've moved to Quebec, but I'm currently taking a French class. I love Quebec and I want to stay here and I want my son to grow up here, so being able to speak French is important.

I'm not religious and I'm pro-choice. When it comes to politics I lean a bit to the left, but I'm not a member of any political parties because I'm generally disillusioned with politicians. I voted for the Bloc Québécois in the last federal election (which was the day before my son was born.) I'm not a vegan or a vegetarian. I breastfed, cloth diapered, and co-slept. I'm a single mom, but my son's father is involved in his life and they love each other very much. I'm terrified of riding a bike in the city and prefer to walk or take the metro. Is there anything else that you'd like to know?